top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSamantha Marlow

Funky town (not the good kind)

It’s a been a wild year.


With the insane bushfires, a worldwide pandemic which resulted in a new Work From Home normality, moving house (again) and a bunch of other craziness in my personal life. I could sleep for a year.


I don’t normally subscribe to the "New Year New Me" bullshit, but after the shocker of a year I had in 2019, I genuinely had high hopes for 2020, and so far it has been, well, pretty fucking unspectacular... (Bring on 2021!?)

As per my previous post, after Rhi and I decided we were going to smash another KI Marathon, I quickly decided on a plan of attack for this year to give me some motivational steps towards achieving another psychotic set of goals.


If you remember: Step One, lose weight.

So I did that. Kind of. I mean I did manage to do Keto for two months and shed 7kg (so like, half a le️g?) before the pandemic hit and I didn't leave the house, the couch or my fridge for 3 months.

Still, progress is progress.

To be honest, while the Keto diet works wonders, it can be very unforgiving, and if you’re not strict and following the rules then you can have less than ideal results. And when you’re stressed as shit, and have little motivation for food prep and macro-planning, it’s just a pain in the ass.

I decided I had enough of Keto and that I wanted to just start running.

So we did: Step Two, Couch to 5km.

I mentioned in my previous post that Rhi had still been exercising over the blistering Australian summer, so she was much much fitter than I was.


After a few short training sessions, I quickly decided that I don’t very much enjoy struggling and puffing next to someone who can simply sprint ahead to take a cheeky snap of some ducks before continuing to run alongside sweaty-old me, so I took to running and exercising by myself.


That is, of course, until I wasn't supposed to leave the house, and so I stopped running too.


Never mind kicking goals, by April 2020 I wasn't even outside to find the goal post.


Thoughts of exercising and healthy eating was quickly turned to thoughts of the world and changes to society as we knew it. And so back to the couch (and the chocolate) I went.


Every day working from home meant the quiet moments were filled with obsessively checking the ABC News live blog to see how many cases there were. How many people were dying. Whether the State was going to enter Military rule and go into full lock down.


It was terrifying to behold, even knowing that here in South Australia, we had it relatively easy.


The first month of COVID-19 induced lockdown was probably the longest month of my life, but we all quickly adapted and before we knew it, the entire city of Adelaide had acclimated to our new way of life in the wake of a world-wide pandemic.


The offices opened, and we went back to work. We stopped social distancing and wearing masks, and slowly but surely all the restrictions lifted and life almost went back to normal. Whatever that was. Noone can remember anyway.


Nek minute, we all wake up and somehow it's December and the stores are filled with tinsel and and obnoxious Mariah Carey jingles and I can't understand how we can be counting down the days to Christmas when it feels like a couple of months since the last one.


Oh yeah - and I have run like, twice, in the remainder of the year.


My happy little Marathon Timer tells me that are only 143 days until I am supposed to be running a full marathon and I am currently wheezing while going upstairs to get a glass of water.


So I need a new plan.

And some motivation.


And maybe if the COVID-19 virus could fuck off, that would also be swell.


Be right back - my new mad plan is currently hatching.

11 views

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page