top of page
Search
  • Sammy

Week 26: 1 step back, 1 mile forward


I forgot to tell you about the amazing gift I received last week!

Seemingly out of nowhere I received a package at work, and opened it to find a brand new pair of ASIC GEL-Cumulus Sneakers!

There was no note with the package but I assumed that this amazing gift was from my Aunty over in New Zealand whom I had been speaking with regarding my recent issues. Best Aunty Ever!

It was actually great timing as I had been thinking of getting some new shoes anyway, and my google stalking had lead me to the idea that even though I had stability sneakers at the moment, I should perhaps try some neutral sneakers as well to see if it made a difference on my shins. Can I over-stabilise if that is not even my issue in the first place?

I had my second appointment on Monday with another podiatrist called Liz and after some quick feedback regarding running with strapping the previous week, she decided she would fit my new sneakers with some off-the-shelf orthotics to get me started.

Apparently my new ASICs are up there with the recommended shoes for this sort of thing. Aunty just keeps on winning!

I left my podiatrist appointment feeling the most positive about getting into running again than I have in a long time and was eager to chuck on my new kicks and get out there.

I did, however, have to soften up the orthotics for a couple days before I was allowed to run in them so Liz strapped both my feet and told me to run in my old runners after work.

Rhi wasn't able to join me so I headed down to the usual Torrens track with strict instructions for myself that I was not allowed to run more than 2kms in case I do myself another injury in my eagerness to put some new miles behind me.

I set off, blasting Beyoncé on my head phones and couldn't believe how good it felt to be kicking pavement again. I felt all warm and energised.

I kept an eye on my distance and was actually disappointed when I got to the 2km mark. It just felt so good! You have permission to scoff.

After making myself walk for half a km, I started jogging again and jogged all the way back to the top of Frome St which pulled my whole circuit to 5km. And, no shin pain!

I was so happy, I can't even describe the happy.

Don't get me wrong, it was the first time I had run a constant distance in nearly a month and therefore I was tired, and it was hard, and my body was sore, but I couldn't believe that after being benched for so long I was still able to smash out a 5km circuit - especially after how long it took me to get to 5km in the first place.

I had been so scared I was going to have to start right from the very start again. All hope has not been lost after all!

I had been focusing so much on how great the world was that it wasn't until I jumped in the shower that night that I realised how badly the strapping had chaffed and blistered my skin. Ouch! So I took it off with a mental note that I was going to have to learn how to strap my own feet in the future.

I had a massage with Rob the next morning and my calves were still sore from the Boardwalk on the weekend so I knew it was going to be hell. It was hell - but I felt so much better afterwards!

He was happy to hear my feedback regarding the podiatrist but mentioned that I may have to continue strapping my feet as well as wearing the orthotics and suggested that I speak to Liz about it next time I see her.

After my successful run the night before, Rhi and I decided we should probably re-do the training plan to reflect where we were currently at distance-wise so I jumped back online to research some shorter plans and came across a great plan that started with 2 mile (3km) runs that we could start the following week.

With a couple of tweaks, we realised that pending any other set-backs (touch wood) this 16-week plan should be the last plan we follow until the big day! Argh!

I uploaded it onto my training page to make it official while we discussed what we were going to do about our new "Strength and Stretch" sessions that were incorporated as our new "Tuesday Activity".

We have been talking about it for some time now, but thought it was probably time we join a gym in the city and get a PT for at least one session a week to keep us honest.

That way, we can also use the membership to take our training indoors if there is shit weather (guaranteed) over the next couple of months. Psyched! Let's go!

Wednesday night after work, Rhi and I found ourselves actually running together for the first time in what seemed forever. We decided to kind-of follow Week 1 of our new plan (which we weren't officially starting until next week) and only run 3km.

It was a great run, but my shins were actually a little sore afterwards. I decided this was because I was wearing my old shoes, and I didn't have my feet strapped.

We didn't intend to run again until Saturday, so I rubbed some deep heat on my legs and prayed they would be good by then.

I had also been wearing my new orthotic-filled sneakers around the house at night to try and soften them up, so I expected that they would be ready to run in by Saturday. Fingers crossed!

I was lazy as all hell and did nothing else until my next run. As the week waned my mood grew more and more black. This may or may not have to do with the fact that Chris was away for work again. Sad face.

Rhi arrived my house late in the afternoon on Saturday and we headed out around the burbs for our run before sunset. The bad weather made for dark and gloomy scenery, but I barely noticed because for some reason this run was hard.

And as per usual, how stupid that only the other day I was saying to Rhi that it has been so long since I have had a really bad run.

I remember, at the beginning of our training, almost 1 out of every 3 runs would be horrific. I would have cramps or a bathroom panic situation or just general body fatigue which would make the entire run hell and 9 times out of 10, would make me give up and turn into a puddle of pathetic on the ground.

But since gaining that basic "5k-fitness" I had not been at the mercy of the genuine struggles of these mental elements.

Until Saturday.

My lungs hurt. It was hot but simultaneously my sweat made me cold. I felt winded. My knees ached. I could feel each and every footfall through every bit of jiggly flesh and was acutely aware of my hips, my butt, my calves and even my BACK FAT. Ew.

The difference between those bad runs and this one? I just kept going.

And I suppose that right there is a massive indicator of how far we have come. Because sometimes it just sucks. But you train your self to listen to your body, and overcome the annoying distractions to just get it done.

Also, I got to wear my new orthotic-equipped-sneakers and experienced no shin pain. Win!

Our new 16 week training plan officially starts next week! I am very excited to be able to get stuck into another tough routine, and start putting some miles behind me. Also, the prospect of new strength and cross-training routines is refreshing.

Bring it on!

1 view0 comments
bottom of page