top of page
Search
  • Sammy

Week 16: Limbo


Overall, this week was utter shit.

And yet, the one run that Rhi and I did manage to complete together, was the longest run we have completed to date at a whopping 7.2km.

After we finally completed our 5km race, we both decided we would have a crack at the full track around the Torrens, which is supposedly 7.2km.

Both anxious but keen, we set out Tuesday morning with the determination to complete the course even if we were running so slow we were barely moving.

Because we have spent most our time training to run at a faster pace, it was a massive challenge to bring our pace down so much. We got slower and slower until we realised we had both found that magical “easy pace” that every one keeps talking about.

That pace where running and having a conversation is easy.

A pace that I could probably smash at a brisk walk.

By the time we had looped around past the Hackey and blitzed the hill, we were warmed up and running easy.

I actually felt energised.

And I stayed feeling that way throughout the rest of the run, right until the end.

I felt like, at that pace, I could have run forever!

Rhi and I were both elated that we had blitzed the most kms we had yet managed but my euphoria was short lived because I couldn’t shake the fact that even though at our own pace, we could smash anything, as soon as we join a group, we would both be left for dead.

Even though our easy pace is still 30 seconds quicker than the pace we were at when we first started running.

Our best pace so far was a 7.10min/km. Our easy pace was just under 9min/km. Most runners sit at an easy pace of about 6.30min/km.

Why were we so slow still?

I was so disheartened and anxious to join the Start Running class again this Sunday.

The rest of the week ended up being a battle of sinus and allergies which rendered me useless not only for running but also for work.

I am sure everyone at work enjoyed my tantrums and tempers as much as I do when I am sick.

I had begun to feel better towards the end of the week but was clearly still recovering because I couldn’t manage to get out of bed on time.

With the best intentions, I managed to stand Rhi up on Thu and Fri morning because I failed to wake to my alarms.

I smashed a great high intensity interval session on the elliptical on Saturday, but before the day was done, I was rewarded with the inability to breathe again.

Whatever is blooming at this time of the year needs to bugger right off.

I slept through my alarm again on Sunday morning but still stubbornly went into work to finish the office unpacking as I had planned with Rhi.

Turns out I didn’t miss anything but disappointment in the running class that morning.

Since the first time we ran, all of the slower people have quit, which of course leaves those such as Rhi and I who were in the middle, at the back.

And without me by her side, that meant that Rhi was last.

The class pushed a rough 7min/km pace which wasn’t sustainable and poor Rhi was left puffing at the back angry and upset.

I felt so angry for her.

Being left behind is our biggest fear, and we joined this class because it was supposed to give us a comfortable environment to run in.

All it did was put a bunch of people who are clearly not beginners, in a position to judge those of us still learning.

I vowed that when we joined them next week, we would run at our own pace together, regardless of the idiots pushing the group and stubbornly make them wait.

After having such a win on Tuesday followed by anxiety that became a reality, I wanted to make a point at those people that think they are better just because they are faster.

I have read so many articles claiming that how fast you run doesn’t matter. So many experienced runners trying to convey the message that everyone is different, and pace is no exception. And yet, every other article is talking about what pace you need to achieve to train properly.

It is all so confusing.

After such a weird week with hardly any exercise, Rhi and I agreed that we need to refresh our fitness schedule.

Since we have completed our 5km goal, we haven’t really been pushing to achieve anything more and have become somewhat complacent.

We have the 10k app that we can follow, but we were starting to struggle with our cross training sessions.

Rhi suggested we follow the Kayla Itsines fitness program on the days we do cross training and I realized that I had actually done it before.

Back, seemingly a hundred years ago when I convinced Chris I needed a bunch of gym gear at home, I had been stocking up on what I needed to complete these exercises at home.

I agreed, and we revised our schedule:

We have been talking about it, but we were finally going to do it. We are pushing our training up to 6 days up until April and then we will review our program again once we have completed the 10k race.

The anticipation for a new routine was weirdly exciting.

Rhi and I feel pumped to get into it again and push our limits.

Here we go again!

1 view0 comments
bottom of page