top of page
Search
  • Sammy

The Hydration Equation


After the serious struggle that Rhi and I experienced towards the end of one of our Saturday walks, and after a touch of admonishment from our Boss at work regarding our lack of hydration and fuel (we relayed our weekend accomplishments and he knows his stuff, he wasn't just being a stalker weirdo) we decided this week that we should probably start to look into proper hydrating/carb loading/protein what-ever-ing for our longer workouts.

At the moment, for our longer cross-training workouts we have been taking water bottles and maybe a small snack or sugar rush (like an oat bar or sports drink), but for our Run days, we have not even been taking our water bottles, as the workouts are only half an hour.

I know both of those are probably not ideal, but baby steps. I am no pro - I am doing what I can, alright?

SO! We decided we probably need to know a little more if we want to treat our bodies right and make the most of what we have and what we can achieve.

I have read many different articles and blogs over the last couple weeks and sought out the knowledge of the more experienced athletes in our work place (we have a serious case of Cyclist-fever in our office).

We have been given many different ideas, but I am keeping in mind that I need to do what's best for me and find my own routine.

The first thing I looked at online was a Hydration/Camelbak pack, because it seems to be the most comfortable way to hold 2litres of water, my phone and my car keys.

But then I started seeing all these pictures online of marathon runners wearing these weird utility belt looking things with tiny bottles and a bum bag. It appears more runners seem to go for the utility belt than the camelbak and I can't imagine anything more awkward.

Especially when your lava-lamp-lady-lumps move as much as mine do.

At the moment, I barely tolerate having a sports phone band and head phones, let alone 4-6 bottles of liquid and some keys jingles on my butt.

But then, if I can learn to run, I can learn to run with a batman-belt filled with delicious snacks and liquid gold hydrators, right?

So maybe I will look into a Batman-belt. There are cheaper versions that have a zipped pouch at the back, and one holder for your drink bottle, so I might start there and once we get into the longer runs, I will look into a more whizz-bang batman-belt to up the ante.

The next thing that I wanted to look into included the many types of snacks and hydration gels and mixes that are recommended. Each time I try to look into this I get overwhelmed by not only the options but also the reviews both for and against almost every item on the market.

Conclusion: I am just going to have to do some research and try some different options.

My first thought was, if I am aiming for the KI Marathon, maybe I should look into their sponsored nutrition provider? I read somewhere that you shouldn't take anything offered at the Aid stations on race day unless you are used to using it.

The sponsor for that race is Endura. There are heaps of raving reviews about this brand, and a lot of people are saying that it is better for you that some other more widely used brands. But for every positive comment I read, I get a counter comment that goes something like "These are great, but I also like....".

Not only this, but frustratingly almost every product (even within the same brand) has the exact same directions on the back for when to use them. If I followed all these instructions I would turn to liquid within a couple of days. I need to know what the difference is, and why, and why I need to have one over, or in conjunction with, the other.

Bah.

Rhi and I were fortunate enough to sample some TORQ gels bought in by the boss. He uses these when cycling and recommended them mostly because they were the most tolerable flavours he had some across and give you the carb boost you need when you are exercising for more than 45minutes. We pocketed the Raspberry Swirl flavour and vowed to give it a go at the half way mark on our next bike ride.

Feedback: Not what I expected, but not bad! Literally looks like a liquid hair gel, and is very sweet and concentrated in flavour, but we both noticed a pick-up in energy on the way back on our ride. I am not sure, however, if I would have the patience to fumble with a tear-away packet of goo while I am running.

Also, when I am feeling exhausted, I tend to obsess over anything that can make me feel nauseous, including strong lingering flavours or smells so I am not sure if this product would be the most appropriate for me on a long run.

Whatever. I put my gel doubts aside, and thought I may as well do some window shopping and actually have a look at the packs and belts before I look into the products that will go in them.

I popped into my local A-mart, found a cheap 1.5Lt Hydration pack ('camelbak') for $35 but couldn't find any batman-belts.

Hang on, aren't these like, a thing? Doesn't everyone who runs have one of these? Isn't A-marts sports like a massive sports equipment and clothing chain?

Turns out, they used to have them on the shelves but they literally collected dust and never moved so they clearanced them and took them off the shelves again.

Luckily for us, one of the helpful girls with far too much bounce in her stupid Puma step, rummaged around the back and found the last two dusty belts that were pretty much still sitting there only so I could purchase them.

More like a Robin-belt, the Karrimor hydration belt only came with two small sipper bottles, a zipped pouch and a couple of elastic bands to hold gels or whatever you think necessary to clip on it. Toilet paper?

I was happy with that. Mostly because they only put me back $15 each - I bought both so Rhi could buy one off me if she wanted it (because we all know that men are too manly for hydration) and went on my merry way.

The first thing about the cheap belt bottles - the sipper leaked air as you drink from it, which means if you don't squeeze the water into your mouth, and you manage to not spill it every where, you are swallowing a mouthful of 30% air. As mentioned in my last Weekly Update, sipper leaking = rage.

The second thing to note about this cheap robin-belt - it was actually comfortable. Which was a surprise! It sat nice and snug on my hips, and stayed there, while I test ran it around the house.

I have decided I will take it with me on my run tomorrow (3 x 5min runs, gulp) and put it to the test.

I have also decided I will buy some Endura Hydration formula as well. I will let you know how that goes.

0 views0 comments
bottom of page